Hungary 1914 10 Filler...Rare?

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Joey from Da Bronx, Jun 20, 2015.

1. I've been looking through a plethora of foreign coins that I've had for many years. Using the NGC World Coin on-line price guide, most of 'em are common. A few are worth up to $20 or so. When I looked up a Hungarian 1914KB 10 filler coin, it gave no price in any composition, nickel, brass, or silver. Mine appears to be nickel, a little bigger than our dime. Searching Google I found one place listing it at $800 in about very fine condition (which mine appears to be).
    Can any experts on world coins give me some more info? Thanks.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Hiddendragon

Hiddendragon World coin collector

I'm not an expert on the series but the Krause price guide says $200 in VF, which is pretty good. It doesn't say why it's so high but perhaps most were melted for some reason.

4. Jaelus

Jaelus The Hungarian Antiquarian Supporter

1914 was a transition year. What does the reverse look like?

5. Reverse has a beaded border, a wreath along the bottom, from 3:00 to 9:00,10 FILLER in the center, with K-B below it.

6. Jaelus

The rare 1914 has a wreath that goes almost 360 degrees. Starts at 12:30 and goes around until 11:30. Definitely not the one you're describing.

So yea you have the later one. That's not the rare type.
    It looks like this right? http://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces7098.html
    That's the first year of the later type made from CNZ. There's an identical looking one made from iron but it wasn't minted until 1915.

The KB is the mint mark by the way: Kormocbanya.

7. Hiddendragon

Hiddendragon World coin collector

Krause lists the same price for both coins. Is that an error?

8. Jaelus