How to tell clip vs. damage ...

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by nuMRmatist, Jul 1, 2020.

1. nuMRmatist

nuMRmatist Well-Known Member

Can't get a good pic til daylight ; cropped pic of yesterday's find for the moment here ...

Both sides are smooth, as is the edge. Seems to me that a hit would result in 1 side protruding on the cut ; maybe the edge too - unless ground down afterward (which does NOT appear to be the case).

It will probably go free , if any member wants it.....................................

blob.jpg

capthank and Corn Man like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Corn Man

Corn Man Well-Known Member

Zinclons at there finest

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

That is DEFDAM - Definitely Damaged :yack:

It is not a Incomplete Planchet. (Clipped planchet)

It is a Copper Plated Zinc Planchet where the plating was damage and the zinc rotted away.

Oldhoopster and capthank like this.
  5. nuMRmatist

I'm thinkin' that too, 'cause organic matter really smells bad when it rots. No clue tho' why an INorganic material doesn't smell ??? :rolleyes:

CornMan - Zinclons ? THERE from planet 'Zinclo' - right ? In the sky, right THEY'RE - right?

C'mon guys - get your coffee down 1st..

ed.:
    Never mind corn ; I see the Zinclon in my pic - right their ;)

Last edited: Jul 1, 2020
    capthank likes this.
  6. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Tom Hanks in A League of Their Own: "There's no proofreading in baseball!"
    ~ Chris

Oldhoopster and Nyatii like this.
  7. paddyman98

Seriously now..

A Incomplete Planchet issue is created when new planchet is being cut out from a sheet of coin stock. It is actually an overlap of a previously cut out planchet so it's not actually clipped.