How to take a photo of a coin without spending a FORTUNE?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by VirginiaMan, Oct 17, 2016.

1. VirginiaMan

VirginiaMan Member

I'm new to Coin Talk....Whew, got that out of the way! So.....my question is: How could I take photographs of my merging coin investment without having to pay a fortune on photographic equipment? I see these incredibly clear, bright, and detailed images on this site and would like to be able to do the same. Any suggestions? (2nd question....."If" any of you answer my post....how do I retrieve your messages?) (Notice the plural of "message"? I'm very optimistic.) Thanking you all....in advance.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. hotwheelsearl

hotwheelsearl Well-Known Member

People are going to hate me for saying this, but I've had excellent results with an LG G2 cell phone camera and a desk lamp. The phone has a 13MP camera which is great for cropping, and excellent macro focus.
    The LG G3 is even better, and the G4 is better yet, but those are naturally a bit more expensive.
    It's not the best, but see for yourself how good a cheap phone can do you:
    20160810_224218~2.jpg
    20160810_172932~2.jpg
    20160810_224653~2.jpg

J.A.K. and green18 like this.
  4. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

One could go out and spend tens of thousands of dollars on the highest end camera equipment and still end up with crap photos. Yes, equipment does matter, but it's a tool and as with any tool, is only as useful as the individual using it. This, if one understands their tool, is why someone using a cheap P&S or even a cell phone can produce perfectly acceptable coin images while the above fellow* who doesn't can still end up with garbage.

EDIT:

**by "above fellow" I meant the person in my example buying very high end equipment, and not the poster above me.**

Last edited: Oct 17, 2016
    green18 likes this.
  5. Burton Strauss III