How to 'brighten' a Shield Nickel - help, please?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Topcat7, Mar 7, 2018.

1. Topcat7

Topcat7 Still Learning

I have this 1882 Shield Nickel that is discoloured. (It is not 'dirty'.)
    I would like to get it 'shiny' (or close to it) again.
    I have tried (variously) soapy water, vinegar and salt, "Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce", "Tarn-off", and "C.L.R." without any success.
    Can anyone advise me of a product (or method) that might accomplish what I am trying to do, please?
    Magical Snap - 2018.03.08 09.03 - 013.jpg Magical Snap - 2018.03.08 09.02 - 012.jpg

Paul M. likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

This will work wonders... and it is scratch free!
    Ajax-Bleach.jpg

Topcat7, Paul M. and Paddy54 like this.
  4. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

You can "brighten" it, but it will be etched and ruined. The vinegar and salt has probably already damaged it. The CLR definitely has ruined it.
    I don't think acetone will do anything, as this coin looks toned, rusted and environmentally damaged. Maybe it was a metal detector find at some point. The acetone won't harm the surface of the coin.
    I was able to raise the date on some dateless Buffaloes (just an experiment)
    with white vinegar and a few drops of hydrogen peroxide. The dates appeared, but the coins became unnaturally whiter. Etched. The coin value will drop.
    One way to clean a coin where you don't care about the value anymore, is to take any brand of toothpaste (not the gel, the white stuff) rub it on the coin and rub it between your fingers, and rinse, and wipe with a paper towel. A lot of dark stuff will come off, but there are abrasives in the toothpaste which does this. The value of the coin will drop. You could use silver cleaner that might shine it up, but the value of the coin will drop.