How much does a coin worth if it's graded

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by ibuycoinsoffebay, Oct 19, 2017.

1. By all the major graders

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. V. Kurt Bellman

V. Kurt Bellman Yes, I'm blunt! Get over your "feeeeelings".

Not possible to answer.

tommyc03 likes this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Last edited: Oct 19, 2017
    Curtisimo and Santinidollar like this.
  5. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

6. SilverWilliesCoinsdotcom

SilverWilliesCoinsdotcom Well-Known Member

Does that have to be Is that MS or Proof?

Endeavor likes this.
  7. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

Not necessarily.

Sorry for poking fun with my original response, but I'm with Kurt on this one -- your original question is a bit like "how much does food cost?". You'll have to be a lot more specific to get a serious answer.

Two Dogs likes this.
  8. SilverWilliesCoinsdotcom

Perhaps not. Coins like food are worth more in original, unused condition, no?

9. davidh

davidh soloist gnomic

To continue the theme, ask yourself how much does bread cost? To answer you must know if it's white bread, rye, pumpernickel, wheat, 9-grain, French, etc. And is it in a full loaf or sliced, is it made with preservatives or fresh baked, is it day old, etc. How much does a coin increase in value if it's graded? The same amount as bread.

10. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

Well if you have a coin and you have had it graded by all the grading services you probably aren't going to get back what you put into it.

11. SilverWilliesCoinsdotcom

Which raises the question, is oven baked bread considered to be artificially toned?

12. atcarroll

atcarroll Well-Known Member

about three fiddy

C-B-D and johnmatt like this.
  13. 19Lyds

19Lyds Member of the United States of Confusion

Neither price guide reflects reality as both are what coin dealers report.

As for the OP's question?