How Long Have You Been Collecting Coins?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Bambooski, Aug 21, 2013.

1. Bambooski

Bambooski Obsessed YN :)

I was wondering, how many years have you been collecting coins, or how old were you when you started collecting? :)

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ace71499

ace71499 Young Numismatic

Ive been collecting for a strong 6 months and i was 13 and now im 14... im hooked ill never stop collecting lol! Im even merging into metal detecting to help me find coins for my collection

4. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

Maybe, but I predict that you will stop collecting, most likely for several years, and do so within 3 years or less.

And no I don't have a crystal ball. That's just what happens to 90+% of male coin collectors your age. Been that way since I was your age ;) Doubt it'll ever change.

How long for me, going on 54 years now. I started at 7.

jello and fireguy83 like this.
  5. Jwt708

Jwt708 Well-Known Member

Three years or so.

6. KoinJester

KoinJester Well-Known Member

For the better part of 25 years

7. WRSiegel

WRSiegel Freshman

I've been interested in coins since I was 17, now I'm almost 21, so about 4 years.

8. PennyGuy

PennyGuy US and CDN Copper

55 and 10

jello likes this.
  9. Mat

Mat Ancient Coincoholic

Since 1986, took a break in 97 and resumed in 2008.

10. rktech

rktech New Member

I've been collecting for almost 10 years, and I started when I was 12.

11. coleguy

coleguy Coin Collector

About thirty years or so. Only consider the last 20 as a serious collector as that's when I began to have more funds for hobbies and such things. Now that my kids are out of college I'll get even more serious. Just keeps getting better.

12. jester3681

jester3681 Exonumia Enthusiast

I've been collecting off and on my whole life - my grandfather was a collector. I got serious when I hired out on the railroad - 3 years ago.

13. Joe2007

Joe2007 Well-Known Member