How do you "tactfully" disagree with a dealer

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by merlin1066, Mar 30, 2009.

1. merlin1066

merlin1066 Senior Member

I haven't had to disagree with a grade from a dealer but I'm sure it happens. Being a new collector I have limited experience with grading. I just want to be prepaired for when it does happen.

Thanks again!
    Mark

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Lehigh96

Lehigh96 Toning Enthusiast

The easiest way is simply not to buy the coin. If he still has it 6 months later, you can try suggesting that the coin is overgraded and maybe he will drop the price.

4. Arizona Jack

Arizona Jack The Lincoln-ator

Discussing a grade with a dealer is easy. Speak your mind.

He will know instantly if you know the series or are of a " redbook collector " mentality.

If you approach a dealer with a tray of buffalo nickels, a tray of mercs, Morgans, Moderns, off brand slabs, by all means, good luck to you.

Stick to the folks who deal in a type or a series.

Learn your series that you are shopping for, then stick to your guns. You will do well.

5. snaz

snaz Registry fever

For online purchases if I like the coin or disagree with the grade or price show them an example of a coin graded "the same" by a tpg, and explain how theirs is different than that one.

6. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor

If you are fairly confident with your grading knowledge, you could offer the pricing appropriate for the correct grade. If you get into a question of grade, you wouldn't get a discount anyway. I just say " I would go $$ if you want to consider that" and if they say no, then thank them and walk away.

Jim

7. merlin1066

merlin1066 Senior Member

Thanks for the input everyone!

8. Arizona Jack

Arizona Jack The Lincoln-ator

I forgot to add, ignore ANY grade, be it plastic slab, flip or 2x2 or a website page.........those are not YOUR opinions, they are of the seller or the TPG.

It's YOUR money

9. bqcoins