How do you store your coins?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by cfrenchfci, Nov 29, 2015.

1. cfrenchfci

cfrenchfci Member

I'm just getting started. I have probably somewhere around 100 Morgan/peace dollars that my grand parents/parents collected over the years. They're all common dates and circulated, so I don't have anything super valuable. I'm curious how you guys keep your collection safe? I have a safe deposit box, but what's the fun of collecting something if I can't look at it when I want?

swamp yankee likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. jester3681

jester3681 Exonumia Enthusiast

I would say in AirTite Exact Fit, then get a nice AirTite book to put them in. Or just in archival flips.

swamp yankee likes this.
  4. cfrenchfci

cfrenchfci Member

Thanks for the info. Do you typically think it's safe to keep a collection in your house?

5. jester3681

jester3681 Exonumia Enthusiast

I wouldn't keep it in the kitchen or laundry room or basement... moisture and drastic changes in heat are the enemy. Consider investing in some desiccant packages to keep near the coins.

6. cfrenchfci

cfrenchfci Member

Awesome. Thank you!

7. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

You can send them to me, I'll keep them safe for you.:cool::cool::cool:

8. Santinidollar

Santinidollar Supporter! Supporter

Whether or not you keep your coins at your residence probably depends a lot on your security and how safe you consider your area. It's a risk that needs to be evaluated.

swamp yankee, dwhiz and tommyc03 like this.
  9. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

You can keep it in your house, but it isn't too smart to talk about your collection to anyone, even your closest friends. I'm not suggesting that your best friends are untrustworthy, but you can't control who they may tell. You know......one person tells two, two tell four, etc., etc., etc. Sooner or later the info may fall into the hands of the wrong person.

Chris

10. Omegaraptor