How do you price holed coins?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Mr. Numismatist, May 24, 2023.

1. Mr. Numismatist

Mr. Numismatist Strawberry Token Enthusiast

I'm thinking it depends how large the hole is and where it's located. How much is this 20 cent piece worth?
    IMG_3178.JPG IMG_3179.JPG

MIGuy and SensibleSal66 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

That's an altered coin. Takes away from the true value :yack:

No Hole - $352.00 but with the hole I would say less than $30.00
    IMHO

Last edited: May 24, 2023
    Cheech9712 and eddiespin like this.
  4. eddiespin

eddiespin Fast Eddie

I don't think there's any hole price guide, so how would we know? It's VG Details, that we can tell you. I like the roundness of it. Some holes I've seen are irregular. I'd personally pay less if it took out the portrait's head or was like as big as a dime or something like that.

Cheech9712, MIGuy and PlanoSteve like this.
  5. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Price coins with holes? Sorry but I don’t buy them as I have no interest in them.

6. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

There is no price guide for coins such as this. Some folks collect them. Wild guess $25 if you can find a buyer.
    This guy can probably help. @lordmarcovan

Last edited: May 24, 2023
  7. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

For someone who REALLY wants a 20 center, you could possibly get $50

Cheech9712 likes this.
  8. Omegaraptor

Omegaraptor Gobrecht/Longacre Enthusiast

My guess is $55-60 to the right buyer.

Popular types sell even with problems (at a properly discounted price). This is a popular type.

Mr. Numismatist likes this.
  9. potty dollar 1878

potty dollar 1878 Well-Known Member

Ebay is probably your best bet.Look through the sold listings for the same exact coin type but with a hole or (holes) and you should be able to get a price estimate.