How do you guys mail/ship coins?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by AOmonsta, Mar 16, 2011.

1. AOmonsta

AOmonsta New Member

I've had no experience in either receiving or sending coins through the mail so I have no idea.

What type of containers or envelopes do you use for individual coins or bulk orders?

Also what are the normal shipping prices you've experienced?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. RaceBannon

RaceBannon Member

I ship my coins in 4 x 6 inch padded envelopes. They are lined with bubble wrap on the inside. I think they make a perfect little protective package for the coin. I'll then usually enclose the coin in a flip or 2x2 and wrap the invoice around it for extra protection.

You can buy these padded envelopes at most drug stores. If you want to save $, buy them at Walmart, they cost almost a dollar each at my local Rite Aid, but Walmart sells packages of 10 for $3.50.

4. calumsherwood

calumsherwood New Member

does any one have much experience shipping between the uk and usa?

5. seasnake

seasnake Junior Member

When I started selling I bought a box of 1000 of the above mentioned OOO envelopes, sold 1/2 of them on ebay in lots of 100 so mine were free. I buy slabbed coins on teletrade which come in the corregated stick together thingies, which I save and reuse, free again. If I sell currency I put the notes in the plastic holders obtained for 10 cents apiece and sandwich it between 2 pieces of (free) cardboard salvaged from various sources. So I can ship like a pro and my costs are minimal, I do use delivery confirmation for anything over a couple of bucks and insure above $50.

6. bigjpst

bigjpst Well-Known Member

I buy 6x9 bubble mailers from Sams club(only because they don't sell the smaller ones) and they are only like $6 for 25 . I fold the mailer in half and then tape around all four sides, just in case a side splits. I try to buy all my postage through ebay, or through paypal if not an ebay transaction.