How do I recognize a good dealer if I'm new?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Info Sponge, Nov 18, 2009.

1. Info Sponge

Info Sponge Junior Member

The overwhelming consensus is that new collectors should study diligently and establish a relationship with a good dealer.

How do people go about sizing up dealers?

What do I look for if I'm not an expert?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. mikenoodle

mikenoodle The Village Idiot Supporter

You need to learn about what you're looking at.

A "good dealer" as you say is what? Someone who gives you really good deals on coins? Or is it someone who gives you fair prices and good info?

The only way to know if the dealer is ripping you off or not is to know the coin. The best way to know coins is to read, research, and look at a LOT of coins. Ask questions, but don't buy a coin until you have some knowledge of that coin. Look at several examples of that date and mint mark.

Learn about the general nomenclature of coins. Learn about luster and depth of strike. Learn to grade coins in general. Do all of these things for a long time and you'll be able to tell the good dealers from the bad ones easily.

4. Just Carl

Just Carl Numismatist

Think of buying coins from a dealer as if you were buying a house, watch, car, boat, pencil, etc. If you just buy one without knowing about the product, almost any dealer or salesperson may take you for and excess of what you are buying.
    Remember although there are numerous price guides out there on coins, the same is basically true of used cars, houses, watches, etc. Any item could, may, might, should or would have a suggested manufactureres price listed but with coins and many other items, no such thing. A coin price guide is just that, a guide.