How can I tell authenticity of Spanish 8 Reales?

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by fusiafinch, Jul 19, 2011.

1. fusiafinch

fusiafinch Member

Here's a real nice early Spanish 8 reales listed on ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260818487601&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

Is there some site or book that helps me determine the authenticity of Spanish 8 reales? This piece looks real, but I'm not an expert and even though the seller seems honest, I don't think he's an expert either.

I've heard that the edge pattern helps determine this. Anybody else collect these? Any input would be appreciated.

Steve

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. fusiafinch

fusiafinch Member

And, another fly in the ointment. The high bidder on this coin is a brand new member who's only bid on one item..... This coin!

Kinda strange. I don't like to see this because I suspect someone for the seller bidding it up. But The seller seems like an honest broker.

philologus_1 likes this.
  4. medoraman

medoraman Well-Known Member

If real, its an extremely nice coin. I would not be too anxious at the price, though, on Ebay. Its a touch better than my best one, but for that price I would pass personally.

There have been lots of these faked, so I say at that price you would be better off buying from a dealer with a guarantee.

5. Numismania

Numismania You hockey puck!!