How Can I Get Indian Head Pennies?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Jason Large-Green, Apr 21, 2016.

1. Jason Large-Green

Jason Large-Green New Member

I am new to coin collecting and only started about four months ago. So far i have about 70 wheat pennies, 5 steel pennies, and 5 Indian head pennies with the earliest being 1893. I often go to a bank where they give me boxes of pennies and I search through them. I haven't found an Indian head penny in a box yet though.

Where can I get free or cheap Indian head pennies?

Amos 811 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Markus1959

Markus1959 Well-Known Member

Chances are pretty darn good that you wont and you cant!
    Free if family members give you some. Cheap if they are beat to heck (culls)

4. skully88

skully88 Active Member

Family members is the ticket! My mom just gave me a small bag of about 30 of them from my dad's old safe. That with a bunch of silver certificates. Haven't gone through them yet but will here shortly.

Amos 811 likes this.
  5. Jason Large-Green

Nobody in my family collects coins.....

6. skully88

skully88 Active Member

Neither did mine until we opened the safe. Wasn't a bunch but enough to have fun with.

Andrew Snovell likes this.
  7. mac266

mac266 Well-Known Member

8. Jason Large-Green

9. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

Seek and you shall find........and welcome to the forum dear fellow. :)

10. Omegaraptor

Omegaraptor Gobrecht/Longacre Enthusiast

My LCS has a cull bin for .50 each. Last time I pulled out some 1880s Indians, a 1905 in XF with gunk on the reverse, and a 1902 in AU with verdigris and rim damage.

11. Amos 811

Amos 811 DisMember

between me and a friend, last year we got 13 IHC, and $50 in wheats searching rolls.

12. saltysam-1

saltysam-1 Junior Member