Historical Gold Numismatic Coin Appreciation?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by LPaul47, Nov 13, 2019.

1. LPaul47

LPaul47 Member

Hello,
    First post here!

I am new to the coin collecting world and have just a few basic pieces right now.
    Have one pre 33 coin and a few modern proof, reverse proof and bullion coins.
    Was curious about where to find information on Numismatic Gold Coin value and how that value appreciates (or from your own experiences)?
    For example:
    Would a MS65 $20 Liberty Head appreciate in value better than a MS65 $20 St. Gardens (in similar years/ect)?
    Would a low grade $5 Draped Bust, $5 Capped Bust or $5 Classic Head be a better long term decision than purchasing a few MS grade $5 Liberty Heads or $5 Indian?

Trying to get a strong feel for the values of certain coins before I buy another pre 33 coin!
    Thanks!

GoldFinger1969 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

You are trying to make money on coins, which is ill-advised, as it takes a lot more education than you seem interested in. No simple 10 or 15 minute Q&A session about gold coins is likely to deliver you the results that you want, so I personally think you need to pursue your goals differently.

Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
  4. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

Welcome to the forum. I too am a pre-33 gold guy. I been fortunate that I have held my gold for a very long time. The bulk was purchased in the late 1990's. My experience tells me that the only way to benefit from a gold purchase is to expect it to be a loooong term purchase.

Here's the deal with gold. For the most part, the modern commemorative/bullion strikes will rise and fall in proportion to the spot gold market. You will not realize any gain other than melt prices for the modern stuff in most cases.