Hi, Im new to this-so plz bare w/ me. Im posting some pocket change, I think r errors

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by c11jones, Mar 26, 2015.

1. c11jones

c11jones Active Member

IMG_20150324_230450.jpg I think these coins have clad layers missing? Are they worth anything (I IMG_20150324_230450.jpg have done some research, but not sure. Thank You

Attached Files:

coinman1234 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Bryant M

Bryant M Active Member

Look like metal detector finds

4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

First, welcome to the neighborhood!

Unfortunately, none of these coins look like they are missing the clad layer. The colors of these coins looks like the toning one would expect to see from circulation. Coins missing the clad layer should have a copper color in uncirculated condition, moving to red/brown and finally brown patina from circulation.

Here is a half dollar in uncirculated condition that is missing the clad layer. Maybe some of the others can post photos of circulated coins missing the clad layer.

Chris

MBP7K072848.JPG

5. I would have to agree with Chris on this one.

tommyc03 likes this.
  6. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

yes

7. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

Environmental damage

8. coinman1234

coinman1234 Not a Well-Known Member

Metal detecting finds, poorly cleaned too. I found a couple hundred just like that in my first year metal detecting. Banks hated me when I cashed in dirty clad like that.

Mikey Zee likes this.
  9. KoinJester

KoinJester Well-Known Member

Welcome to CoinTalk,

We don't bite, well nip maybe but not bite:angelic:

Sorry you still can't retire not missing clad

coinman1234 likes this.
  10. c11jones

c11jones Active Member

Thank u, especially Chris-your descriptions &p photo really help. No, not a metal detector find (@ least not by me.) & I'm not expecting to retire any time soon. Thanx

11. Paul M.

Paul M. Well-Known Member