Hi, i'm 13 and have recently gotten into coin hunting, so far i haven't found much. Any tips?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by zurble, May 2, 2016.

1. zurble

zurble New Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. 19Lyds

19Lyds Member of the United States of Confusion

Buy a book on what you will be looking for. (i.e. Lincolns, Jeffersons, Roosevelts, etc.)

Buy a book on the coin making process.

Understand that just because something is missing on the coin, such as a letter or number, this doesn't meabn you have an error.

Understand that coins, when left in a fountain, underwater whith a good healthy dose of sunshine, are going to look "different" that what you get a the super market.

Understand that "people" sometimes mutilate coins.

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Time and patience!

Here is an error reference website just click through it and enjoy

I want to share this website with you - http://www.error-ref.com/

5. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

First, welcome to CT. Second, decide what you want to collect, research always helps and go from there. Have fun. :)

6. Dougmeister

Dougmeister Well-Known Member

It's what @paddyman98 said. Implied along with that is that you will most likely need to search a LOT of coins; volume is key.

Depending on how thorough you are and how many varieties/errors you know about, you may search through hundreds if not thousands of coins to find something cool.

If you like Lincoln cents, start there looking for Wheat cents. Low-hanging fruit.

7. cladking

cladking Coin Collector

If you're searching pocket change buy folders to house a whole collection. Save the nicest coins you find to fill it and it will provide countless hours of fun and a ready research collection so you can spot varieties.

green18 likes this.
  8. Dougmeister

Dougmeister Well-Known Member

Oh yeah, I should clarify:

Are you looking for errors? Varieties?