help with coin grading! 1940d and 1940s quarters

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by mhenryfishing, Dec 26, 2013.

1. mhenryfishing

mhenryfishing Member

Hey guys,
    I'm relatively new to collecting. I didn't start until December of 2012. I mainly collect 90% US silver and ended up with 227 ounces of silver total in 2013. Anyway, I won 2 estate auctions in the past few months that had better than average coins. They are all ungraded. I'm not even sure if they are worth grading, so I need your opinions. One of the auctions happened to be the coins from a local coin dealer who passed away a few months ago. I got a really good deal on a lot of silver coins.

One of the lots had 29 uncirculated or proof Washington quarters ranging from 1939-1964. I won this lot for $65.00. In this lot there was a 1939P, a 1940D, a 1940 S, and (2) 1940P. The dealer had his coin grade opinions written on each 2 x 2. They all are MS60 or above, but I know this is not certain.

I think the best coin I got was the toned 1940D...(picture below) followed by the 1940S which is also in the picture. Sorry for the picture quality

I need some help with the coin grading process...

Is it worth me getting any of these coins graded?
    If so, what service or company should I use?
    I'm not a member of any coin service or company, so what would be the cheapest way for me to get 5-10 coins graded?
    What should I expect on approximate turn around time?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. rzage

rzage What Goes Around Comes Around .

The '40-D looks ok and is probably close to a MS-60 but I can't see the surfaces to give you a close grade , The '40-S , I really can't tell what the grade is as there's too much glare on the coin . Can you take larger straight on pics .

4. mhenryfishing

mhenryfishing Member

I tried to retake pictures of the 1940 D and 1940 S. I don't have a good setup for taking pictures of coins. These pictures were taken with my Ipad.