Help with Brooklyn Bridge Medal/Token

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Traci281, Mar 4, 2011.

1. Traci281

Traci281 New Member

Hi Everyone! I was wondering if someone could help tell me what this medal/token is. The name B. Soley is on the token directly above the Eight Wonder of the World and underneath the image of the bridge. I didn't even notice it at first. The research I have done tells me that B. Soley made the first steam powered coin press. I may have misunderstood the article. It would be nice to find out what this coin is worth but I'm more interested to find out what it is. The pictures I have seen of the opening of the Brooklyn Bridge tokens don't look like this one. I'm very new to coin collecting and would appreciate any help. Thanks so much!:)

IMG_2326.jpg IMG_2324.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. BRandM

BRandM Counterstamp Collector

Hi Traci, welcome to CT. According to internet sources George B. Soley purchased the steam press from the U.S. Mint when they took it out of service in 1875, but didn't invent it. Soley was a Philadelphia diesinker who took it on the road to numerous fairs and special events over the next 30 years. Apparently he cut dies to commerate the different events and sold souvenir medals struck on his press. His appearance at the opening ceremonies for the Brooklyn Bridge in 1883 is documented, so your medal is legitimate. I don't know the value of it, but will look around and see if there's any recent record of one being sold. Very nice medal Traci.

Bruce

4. Traci281

Traci281 New Member

Thanks for the information Bruce! It's nice to know the history behind these coins/medals. Can't wait to find out about the others I have!

5. BRandM

I'm looking forward to seeing them. By the way, are you a medal collector? If not, what do you collect?

Bruce

6. Traci281

Traci281 New Member