Help with authentication

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Mike Roo, Aug 19, 2019.

1. Mike Roo

Mike Roo New Member

Not sure if this is the right forum but I need help to see if this coin is "real" a newbie here.....

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

Screams fake to me. Here is a Chinese fake that looks almost identical to yours.
    upload_2019-8-19_13-45-6.jpeg

4. Mike Roo

Mike Roo New Member

do you have the reverse pic?

5. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

Do you own this coin or considering purchasing? It's not genuine if you are considering purchasing the coin.

6. furryfrog02

Google.
    Type in 1877 CC Trade dollar and do an image search. You can see pictures of a real one as well as multiple fakes from places like aliexpress.

eddiespin likes this.
  7. Mike Roo

Mike Roo New Member

I just bought it but can get a refund if I can show it is counterfeit

8. furryfrog02

Oof. You should never have touched this thing with a 10ft pole.

9. Mike Roo

Mike Roo New Member

I did that, lots of red flags mainly the position of the arrow head above the 2 in grain, but I thought I would ask those who know more than me since I am all but sure I have to have ebay step in

10. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

This is genuine. Granted it is an uncirculated piece. But note the details in the face and the flow of her gown. Look at the overall cartoonish look of your piece as compared to the real thing.

[​IMG]

Spark1951, C-B-D and furryfrog02 like this.
  11. Mike Roo

Mike Roo New Member

Am I right to note that all trade dollars in the year 1877 and 78 despite mint the arrow in the back should be over the 2 in grain not between the 2 and 0 as mine is?

12. Mike Roo

Mike Roo New Member

Is there any other specifics I can use to put in my request to ebay?

13. johnmilton

johnmilton Well-Known Member