Help with 2005 toonie -fake or wrong planchet

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by countryboy, Jan 18, 2013.

1. countryboy

countryboy Member

Can you help me fiquire out if this toonie is a fake . The diameter -thicknes-and center is the correct size . But the weight is 7.80 gr and if i'am correct it should be 7.30gr . what do i do with it if its fake . good-2.jpg good-1.jpg good-3.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. chrisild

chrisild Coin Collector

Looks strange to me, but I'm not an expert when it comes to Canadian coins. Right, these "older" $2 coins should have a weight of 7.3 g, so yours is a little too heavy. Also, the "rim" where the ring and the pill meet looks strange. I would check if that piece is magnetic the way a regular coin is magnetic. Maybe try a "sound check" too - drop this one, and one that seems to be OK, on a table or the floor, and listen to any sound differences ...

Christian

4. countryboy

countryboy Member

Hi chrisild . yes it is magnetic and when i drop it on a hard surface it has a lower ring tone then a 2004 or 2006 . i dont have another 2005 to compare it with , thanks for you answer.

5. DClayville

DClayville Member

Details look a bit "mushy" Doesn't look right to me.if it's 7.8g I'd have to say a fake.

6. abuckmaster147

abuckmaster147 Well-Known Member

Why would anyone try and fake a $2.00 coin? The edge looks funny I have one but do not remember what the edge is supposed to look like. I mean your only talking 5/10 of a gram right? I just do not see why unless they made a loony and someone tried to make it a tooney but the looneys are Copper Right?

7. clorox

clorox Member

The only toonie I have with me is from 1996, so they may have changed the pattern, but the edge reeding doesn't match yours. Mine has sections of reeding and sections of smooth edges, while it looks like yours has reeding all the way around.

8. abuckmaster147

9. abuckmaster147