Help me with my Yang...

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by stldanceartist, Dec 9, 2016.

1. stldanceartist

stldanceartist Minister of Silly Walks

Just pulled this out of a bag of foreign bulk coins. Never seen a Korean 1/4 Yang before. Apparently there are a bunch of varieties - can anyone help me out with some info on this? @mlov43

I know it's beat up...probably worth nothing...but I'd like to learn.

Thanks in advance!

Korea - Yang.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

4. stldanceartist

It's in the Krause manual, as well as on NGC's World Coin Price Guide. But I don't know what year it is or which variety (if any), which is why I asked for help. But I knew someone was going to post a Numista link anyway...lol

Paul M. and paddyman98 like this.
  5. mlov43

mlov43 주화 수집가

Yep. Pretty beat up. And probably worth nothing.
    Gwang Mu Year 2 (1898). And possibly fake. I know gxseries has had some say on these in the past. He knows more about them than I do.

For the record, I know South Korea and Japan (post 1945), and not really these "older" Korean coins.

I'm getting to know them because you guys keep asking me about them all the time! Which isn't bad.

6. stldanceartist

I summoned you first primarily because I enjoy your profile photo lol

What sayeth you, @gxseries

Paul M. likes this.
  7. mlov43

mlov43 주화 수집가

Okay, just don't make fun of the pic. It's a sensitive issue for me...:sorry:

Last edited: Dec 9, 2016
  8. stldanceartist

I wasn't poking fun (and I definitely mean nothing hurtful by my comments in any way.) I actually just enjoy seeing it.

It...I...I just wonder what's going on, is all.

9. mlov43

mlov43 주화 수집가

Nothin' going on, man. Let me explain: The pic is just a cropping from our wedding photos. What you can't see is the toothpick in the corner of my mouth due to the low-res image. And in my culture we wear knit ski caps...