Help identifying Fallen Horseman RIC

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Kaleun96, Jul 21, 2020.

1. Kaleun96

Kaleun96 Well-Known Member

I finally picked up a Fallen Horseman type last week and have been trying to find one similar to mine online to help narrow down the RIC number. I've gone through AC Search, CoinArchives, WildWinds, Vcoins, MA-Shops, this forum, forumancientcoins, MANTIS, Helvetica's Fel Temps, Doug Smith's website, etc but have still come up short.

I'm a bit new to RIC numbers as I mainly collect Greek, Roman Republican, or early-ish Roman imperial and don't often get too bogged down in the exact reference. But in this case so much is known about this type I wanted to see how narrowly I could identify it.

So what seems to be a bit unique about this one is primarily the position of the arm of the fallen horseman as it's bent backwards over his body/face. This has occurred on a few types from what I can tell (e.g. the first one listed on Helvetica's Antioch page or one posted here by mardivnvm).

But in those cases there are a few other differences in the shield placement, style of the Roman soldier, and in the case of the Helvetica example the symbol in the left field.
    Those two also have ANA and ANH as the mint marks, while my one appears to be ANZ (and was sold as such). Though from what I understand, you will have multiple mint marks under the same RIC number so that difference is less important.

I hope imgur links are allowed, if not I can reduce the file size to host it here.
    [​IMG]

+VGO.DVCKS, paschka, PeteB and 6 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

That is a great looking FEL TEMP. I can't find an exact match for it either.
    The mintmark is ANZ (at least to me).

Kaleun96 likes this.
  4. maridvnvm

maridvnvm Well-Known Member

RIC VIII Antioch 132 (//ANZ)

Kaleun96 likes this.
  5. Kaleun96