help identifying 416.one yen.900

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Cuneko, Feb 11, 2018.

1. Cuneko

Cuneko New Member

Stumbled across this coin from a friend who says it is a family hand me down, haven't figured out too much about it so far apart from the characters

年五十治明

本日大

from what i've gathered the second set of characters stands for Dai Nippon and or great japan

but am having a slight bit of trouble with the first set of characters

I think it's Meiji era but not sure about these two 五十 looked up around and i'm assuming it means 50 but so far that's all i can figure out.

The pictures are a bit blurry but any help would be immensely appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

1882.JPG

Cuneko likes this.
  4. paddyman98

Great Japan

Cuneko likes this.
  5. paddyman98

6. Cuneko

Cuneko New Member

Thank you very much Paddyman!

paddyman98 likes this.
  7. gxseries

gxseries Coin Collector

It's a bit of a shame. The older 1 yen coins are actually worth a bit these days but as a jewellery, I guess it has it's value.

8. ewomack

ewomack 魚の下着

The direction of text on Japanese coins changed in 1948, right to left became left to right, so it's easy to get confused because flipping the characters significantly changes their meaning. "五十" (gojuu) means "fifty" on modern coins, but "fifteen" (juugo) on pre-1948 coins.

A further breakdown (in left to right): 明治 is Meiji, 十五 is fifteen, and 年 stands for year, so 明治十五年 ("Meiji juugo nen") just means "Fifteenth year of Meiji." Emperor Meiji was also known as Mutsuhito.

And yes, as already stated, the coin pictured dates to 1882. The Meiji dragons, which extended only into 1 year of his son and successor, Taisho, are some of the most amazing coins ever minted, in my honest opinion.

9. gxseries

gxseries Coin Collector