Guess what? Now I've seen it all, and the world is officially over!

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by ronterry, Jan 5, 2011.

1. ronterry

ronterry New Member

Is there nothing PCGS won't capitalize on edited ? I was even surfing Ebay and noticing folks jumping all over penny slabs with rare inserts! Now I know I'm new to this, but shouldn't we buy the coin and not the slab? Well obviously not since the rare insert demanded a lot more than standard PCGS labels.
    Sorry for the rant, as you were... edited

[​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Hobo

Hobo Squirrel Hater

Somehow I don't think this thread is long for the world.

4. USMoneylover

USMoneylover Active Member

Believe it or not some guys actually do collect the slab and not the coin, I think there may be a few slab collectors on these boards. That said, I don't think this insert would add any value to the coin or the slab....from what I understand you can get an insert to say whatever you want if you fork over the $$.

5. ronterry

ronterry New Member

Still baffles me since you can buy PCGS style slabs and print any label you want. Heck you could grade you precious a 71 LOL
    I also think is was a risky move for PCGS to pull a political byass into the mix. edited

6. blsmothermon

blsmothermon Member

I just had to look up the trademark and see who was doing this. "History in your Hands" (TM) is the registered trademark of Collector's Universe, Inc. and they must be the ones who did this. I find this hilarious!

7. Hobo

Hobo Squirrel Hater

Collector's Universe owns PCGS.

8. Duke Kavanaugh

Duke Kavanaugh The Big Coin Hunter

That saddens me.

And btw I collect sample slabs.

9. Hobo

Hobo Squirrel Hater

That's cool. I only have one or two myself.

10. Duke Kavanaugh

Duke Kavanaugh The Big Coin Hunter

Well by collect I should say dabble :D
    As I don't have that many but I do like owning different types of them.

11. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist