GTG - 1908 $2.5 Indian

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by jester3681, Nov 26, 2015.

1. jester3681

jester3681 Exonumia Enthusiast

[​IMG] [​IMG]

I picked this up from Mike at Tough Coins and it has been at PCGS for a little while - I expect the grade to come back in a week or two. Any thoughts? I loved the toning on this one and just couldn't resist. My only gold, but now I'm looking at other quarter eagle and G$1.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Daniel Jones

Daniel Jones Well-Known Member

Gosh, I say AU 55. The eagle has some weakness at the front feathers. But, it could be the quality of strike. I also learned from another CT member that this series was heavily counterfeited, so I would only buy high grade examples in slabs since I am not an expert at detecting counterfeits.

Last edited: Nov 26, 2015
  4. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Pretty coin. I'll guess 64.

5. Mainebill

Mainebill Bethany Danielle

These are tough for me to grade especially from images. I'm gonna say ms 63. I like the color of this one

6. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

That's certainly not a bad plan, short of the always should-be considered option of purchasing only from a knowledgeable stand-up dealer, and one more would be wise to follow. With that said though, this particular example is, without the slightest doubt in my mind, legit. For technical grading purposes however, the photos are, IMO, less than ideal, but the coin is gorgeous nonetheless.

7. jester3681

I consider Mike to be a stand-up dealer. I have some higher resolution pictures for grade guessers:

1908_250_indian_o.jpg 1908_250_indian_r.jpg

green18 and rev1774 like this.
  8. jester3681

So long as it grades clean in the MS range, I'm happy. We shall see!

9. Travlntiques

Travlntiques Well-Known Member