GTG 1901 Morgan

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by murty, May 2, 2016.

1. murty

murty Junior Member

Took photo's while still in 2x2. 642e444c-f7c6-4b85-8991-043f790310fe (1).JPG ccb4c4fe-61db-47fc-ab8c-f558e39de166 (2).JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. jtlee321

jtlee321 Well-Known Member

From what I can tell from the photo's. I'd say MS63.

4. Daniel Jones

Daniel Jones Well-Known Member

It looks like a roughed up XF 45

5. rlm's cents

rlm's cents Numismatist

I am far from a Morgan expert, but my guess is counterfeit. It looks too much like casting bubbles to me.

Last edited: May 2, 2016
  6. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Surface and images way too rough.

7. Coinlover67

Coinlover67 Well-Known Member

Hard to tell surfaces look very rough, if it is like this in hand I would agree with
    But if not MS 61.

8. John King

John King Member

Could just be a really bad photo. It looks awful as it is presented.

9. Santinidollar

Santinidollar Supporter! Supporter

Not going to opine on authenticity, but something or somebody has given that coin a rough time.

10. murty

murty Junior Member

My photo skills are not good....some better pictures DSC_0016 (2).JPG DSC_0019 (3).JPG

11. John King

John King Member

Looks much better now. Seems like a nice coin to my eye. MS64 or better?

12. SuperDave

SuperDave Free the Cartwheels!

EF45-ish, even factoring the New Orleans strike, because some of the details normally lost in a weak strike (cotton bolls, talons, large lower leaves) are still there. That means it was a pretty well-struck coin to begin with and you have to lean more towards wear as an explanation of lost detail.

More importantly, this coin is being destroyed by its' container. I see active PVC plasticizer infection - look for the green at the rim - as well as leached rust from the staple at the top of the obverse. I wouldn't be surprised if the PVC has already permanently damaged it.