Greek Coin, Possibly Akragas in Sicily??

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Urban_Lawyer, Mar 18, 2012.

1. Urban_Lawyer

Urban_Lawyer Half dollar nerd

I received this coin (pictured below -- taken with my phone but I can make better pictures if needed) from my family after a great aunt passed away. I understand it to be Greek, but I don't know anything else about it. My research has lead me to believe it may be from the Greek colony of Akragas on the island of Sicily, circa 500 B.C. The crab seems to be consistent with other coins from that colony, as does the inscription on the obverse. However, the bird on the back does not appear to be as "sharp" or "detailed" as some of the examples I've seen online.

Anybody have any thoughts, or estimation of what its value is?

Thanks!

IMAG0437.jpg IMAG0438.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. medoraman

medoraman Well-Known Member

Do you have any photos of the edge? I am not an expert on these, but the porosity of the coin, along with the unusual incuse on the obverse troubles me at first glance. Normally that obverse is a simply punch on the flan, it is not incuse.

4. dougsmit

dougsmit Member

Also size and weight are needed for ID. The type was issued in several sizes and the concern regarding the incuse would be more serious with some.

5. Urban_Lawyer

Urban_Lawyer Half dollar nerd

Doug and Medoraman: I'm sorry for not responding sooner. I'm in court a lot (my work consumes most of my time) and I had forgotten to reply. This week I was in Chicago for a work and I took the coin to the Harlan J. Berk research department, which is just a block from the Cook County Circuit Court. They confirmed that the coin is a fake. I told them about this thread and the researcher who looked at the coin confirmed that the "giveaways" were the porosity and the obverse. Good eye!

6. medoraman

Eh, we get lucky sometimes. Well, I get lucky, Doug's is based upon his vast skill.