Grandfathers 1954 Double die/error Lincoln Cents?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Tanton, Jun 7, 2017.

1. Tanton

Tanton Member

I posted a while back about finding my grandfathers old stash of lincoln cents and since then I've started going through them more thoroughly. Now before get myself excited over nothing I thought I would ask you guys what you thought about a couple that have caught my eye.

I was browsing Heritage Auctions website and noticed certain 1954 Cents from the Philadelphia mint carried quite a significant value, so naturally I started going through the tube labeled "B.U. 1954"... The pictures don't do them much justice in terms of the toning on them, but I tried my best...

I'm relatively new to the specific grading and qualities of errors/dies/strikes etc. but from what I can tell these seem to have at least something going for them.
    - The first Three pictures are of one that appears to have doubling on "E Pluribus Unum" on the reverse
    - The following Two Pictures show one with what appears to be doubling above the "B" in Liberty on the obverse
    - The third Group of pictures is one with the most going on... the entire outer of both sides has die scratches/scrapes, the shoulder and forehead both have cracking, and the reverse has a large lump on the right hand wheat stalk.

Hopefully you guys will be able to give me some better insight as to what I have here... any information would be much appreciated. I was only able to post a few but do have more similar 1954 cents as well that I could use advice on as well if these are anything special.

Edit: the pictures are a bit out of order so don't follow the numbers on the files. They read left to right etc. Posting as I run out the door so I apologize for the rapidly thrown together post.

Attached Files:

ColonialCoin4 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member