Grading question

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by cpb614, Aug 31, 2013.

1. cpb614

cpb614 Member

I have a question for everyone and I would like some opinions.

18 months ago, I received a large coin collection. My first instinct was to sell it, and put the $ into something else, but as time went on, I started learning about the hobby, I actually found myself surfing auction sites, and stopping in local coin shops when I was out traveling for work. So far, I have sold just some of the silver, and a few other coins (about 5% of the collection).

My son has recently become interested in collecting, so we are learning together. I have decided to save most of the coins for him, for when and if he really starts collecting, he will have a great head start.

I read a lot of threads about buying coins for X amount of $, and adding grading costs, shipping, and possibly not coming back the grade you expected. Some people fear they will break even, or lose money.

My question is, due to the fact that I did not pay for the coins, would it be a good idea to send some of the better coins in to be graded by a TPG? I would only be in it for the grading costs, so would any of you collectors send them if you were in my shoes? I really just want to put them away for my son. I have some key and semi key wheats, some real nice Morgans, Ikes, some proof toned Franklins and a real nice set of toned dimes, among so much more.

any opinions would be appreciated

thank you in advance

Kevin

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Kasia

Kasia Got my learning hat on