Graded Coins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by markthespark, Jun 30, 2013.

1. markthespark

markthespark New Member

Hello I am New here i am a novice coin collector but i have decided to start collecting Graded coins (PGCS) (NGC) (ANACS) (IGC) since these are the only 4 company's that E Bay recognizes My question is that most of these company's charge 15 - 25 dollars each to grade coins but i can buy lots of these graded coins in high grades on ebay for 12 dollars and below each how is this possible when the cost of grading is so high?
    one more question. is this a good investment as an example i just bought this coin for 6 dollars good buy? dollar.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. mark_h

mark_h Somewhere over the rainbow

I can't say if it is a good buy or not, but personally I would stick to NGC and PCGS. Dealers get discounts by doing a mass submission - hoping for the high grade coins that will make them money. The rest they just sell to get as much as they can get. The new ANACs and ICG (while both have some good coins) NGC and PCGS are better. Now depending on what you are going to collect - then I might have a preference for one over the other. All is just my personal opinion and I am sure other opinions will differ.

I any case learn about what you are going to collect first - study as many of them as you can. Learn to grade as best as possible. It will help in the long run.

4. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter