Got some doubled dies on these nickels

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Shrews1994, Oct 16, 2018.

1. Shrews1994

Shrews1994 Collecting is my passion.

236.jpeg 240.jpeg 238.jpeg 248.jpeg 247.jpeg 250.jpeg 254.jpeg 256.jpeg 258.jpeg

Attached Files:

• 252.jpeg
      252.jpeg
      File size:
      569.2 KB
      Views:
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Shrews1994

268.jpeg 270.jpeg 266.jpeg

Attached Files:

• 264.jpeg
      264.jpeg
      File size:
      496.2 KB
      Views:
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2018
  4. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

I see DDD, especially the one with the heavy flow lines.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

First nickel is Die Deterioration Doubling

6. Clawcoins

Clawcoins Damaging Coins Daily

does the surface of the die, the flat fields get striated like the coin flow lines are ?

7. Shrews1994

Ok. I thought. But what about the 1976? The s really looks it.

8. Shrews1994

And the 1972 the word cents looks thicker.

9. wxcoin

wxcoin Getting no respect since I was a baby

The dies appear to be well past their expiration date! Definitely appears to be DDD.

10. ken454

ken454 Well-Known Member

neither are doubled dies....

11. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

Yes, as the die wears Flow lines are worn into the die face.

Clawcoins likes this.
  12. Clawcoins

that's one mangled looking die

13. Fred Weinberg

Fred Weinberg Well-Known Member

Nice close up photos, but ask yourself:

Do you see any separation of the letters,
    or do they look 'shelf-like'? See the 2nd thru
    about the 6th photo - all flat doubling, no
    separation.

Kentucky likes this.
  14. SilverDollar2017

SilverDollar2017 Morgan dollars

Die deterioration doubling, not a doubled die. They really used those dies well...

15. SilverDollar2017

SilverDollar2017 Morgan dollars