Goldfinger's Shiny Silver Friends

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by GoldFinger1969, Feb 5, 2015.

1. GoldFinger1969

GoldFinger1969 Well-Known Member

Some of my smaller $$$ amount -- but larger total quantity -- of silver coins. From the 1970's as a young kid, to a few odd purchases made in the last decade, to recent stuff where I actually did some -- SOME !! :D -- research before buying.

First up....an 1898 MS-64 PL Morgan. I'm not an expert so please praise or criticize the coin or grade as you see fit, I have to learn. I saw a rarer date or similar date mintage-wise but it was a Stack's MS-66 coin and cost over twice the price so I had to pass.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Feb 5, 2015
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. GoldFinger1969

Without the $$$ to buy some bullion or Saints, I sometimes get some silver. And sometimes I'll buy premium stuff, rationalizing it if I like/love the coin and the total $$$ amount involved isn't that large. What I do with small $$$ is different than if I was going to invest a much larger sum (hope to have that problem in the future :D )

I bought this at the recent Westchester show, which is every 3 months in the NYC area. It's the Enhanced Finish & Reverse Proof 2013-W American Silver Eagle set, MS-69. I LOVE the finish on both of these coins, the Reverse Proof looks really good on an ASE.

I have these in MS-70, too, and can't tell the difference. Except the extra savings in my wallet.:D

Attached Files:

4. Paul M.

Paul M. Well-Known Member

That Morgan is a solid MS64. One could ask for a bit better strike, but, all in all, a nice coin.

GoldFinger1969 and JPeace$ like this.
  5. GoldFinger1969

Thanks...can you elaborate on the strike deficiency as you see it ?

6. Paul M.