Gold Eagle Coin

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by texmech, Aug 17, 2017.

1. texmech

texmech Wanna be coin collector

I recently purchased a $50 gold coin (1 oz.). Did consider getting the 09 SVDB because I need that to complete my Lincolns, but decided on gold. In the past I was a regular coin collector, but recently have taken a break. This was my first time jumping in the bullion market. It is an uncirculated coin, probably at least MS 65 condition.

My question is, if I was to sell it would I just get spot value or more based on condition. I'm new to the bullion market.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Blissskr

Blissskr Well-Known Member

I assume the coin is raw are you talking about an AGE or Buffalo? In general though even if it was slabbed unless it was a conditional rarity you'd likely be looking at spot or maybe a little over. It's also likely some would offer you less than spot but I'd walk in those cases.

4. BruceS

BruceS Member

You just purchased it, right? So did you pay a premium? Kind of a silly question.

5. texmech

The day I bought it spot was at $1,280. I paid $1,394 at my local coin store for the uncirculated coin, which has always been pretty proud of their inventory. I am sure I over paid a little.

6. Stork

Stork I deliver Supporter

Unless it's an MS-70 it will trade as bullion/percentage of spot. (Even the MS-70 may not get you much of a bump). Maybe you could have done better than 8.9% over spot...you can find lower prices but once you add costs of shipping/fees etc, who knows if that extra percent or two is worth it to you. Oh, and how you paid (cash vs. check vs. credit card vs. wire).

A one ounce AGE is as about as basic a bullion you can get. You can check online prices as a ballpark like Apmex or Golden Eagle or Provident.

http://www.apmex.com/product/102251/2017-1-oz-gold-american-eagle-bu?featprod2

https://www.goldeneaglecoin.com/buy...s/one-ounce-uncirculated-american-gold-eagles