Fugio1 2020 top 10

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Fugio1, Dec 20, 2020.

1. Fugio1

Fugio1 Well-Known Member

This is my first top 10 posting. For me, 2020 was a good year for numismatics. Historically I may buy 5-6 coins a year, so narrowing to my favorite 10 coins in a year would be easy. This year, I acquired a few more, so I actually have a problem deciding my favorite 10. This is a good problem to have.

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m a retired software engineer for Kodak where I worked for 45 years. I developed and supported manufacturing applications. I’ve collected coins relatively continuously since I was 10 years old with a short break for a few years of teenage insanity. I’ve actively collected and disposed of small collections of high grade US and British coins and I love all numismatics but my budget and my brain are not big enough to actively collect everything. In 1978, I bought my first ancient coin, a Roman Republican denarius from Tom McKenna, along with a copy of Seaby’s Roman Silver Coins volume 1, both of which I still own. I’ve always been fascinated by older stuff and became very interested in the origins of the denarius. These early coins of the denarius system form my principle collecting focus. About 10 years ago, I collaborated with Pierluigi Debernardi to create a website guide to the attribution of the fully anonymous denarii which can be found at this link:
    http://stevebrinkman.ancients.info/anonymous/index.html

Here are my favorite 10 of 2020, and some reasons why I chose to acquire these specific coins. I have shared most of these, if not all before, but putting this list together was fun. These are listed in order of their acquisition this year.

#1. Quinarius, “H” series, RRC 85/1; 2.24 gms.
    85-1-GandM-2.24g-2.jpg
    Acquired from Gorney & Mosch , January 17, 2020
    Ex Gerhard Hirsch Sept 25, 2019 lot 2555