Fugio Cent , REAL ? Looking to buy

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by ACoins, Feb 26, 2019.

1. ACoins

ACoins New Member

Hi , I am a student and am interested in buying a fugio cent to add to my colonial currency collection . I found this one online with a current asking price of about 200 . Is it real and is that a fair current value price ? Let me know s-l1600-145.jpg s-l1600-146.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. l.cutler

l.cutler Member

It seems to be genuine, I see nothing to indicate that it isn't. I think I would try to get it for a bit less, but $200 isn't too far out of line.

Bob Evancho and ACoins like this.
  4. ACoins

ACoins New Member

Thank you ! Do you think the crack/chip on the coin will affect grading in the future ?

5. l.cutler

l.cutler Member

I believe that is a planchet void on this coin. I wouldn't know about grading, probably they would call it corroded, environmental damage or who knows. Been collecting colonials for over 40 years, never had one graded and never will. I guess most colonial collectors are like that! Colonial are the most fascinating coin field in my opinion, enjoy!

6. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

Looks genuine to me and I wouldn't mind paying that for it. The planchet crack/void is original to the planchet not from damage. It would not prevent grading, but the moderately corroded surfaces may result in a details grade.

Dimedude2 and ACoins like this.
  7. Rick B

Rick B Well-Known Member

What do you think of this one?
    Fugio1.jpg Fugio2.jpg

MIGuy and Randy Abercrombie like this.
  8. ZoidMeister

ZoidMeister Hamlet Squire of Tomfoolery . . . . .

To my eye, the position of the "O" in FUGIO in the OP's example is different than the one directly above - it sits lower than the "I" by a good amount.

Are there multiple die types for this coin? That would be one explanation. The other would be a questionable origin for the worn coin.