Franklin Half Dollar FBL

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Sting 60, Dec 2, 2023.

?

Tell me is 1 through six ix full bell lines.

1. 1

1 vote(s)
    33.3%
  2. 2

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. 3

1 vote(s)
    33.3%
  4. 4

1 vote(s)
    33.3%
  5. 5

2 vote(s)
    66.7%
  6. 6

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Sting 60

Sting 60 Well-Known Member

20230908_210154.jpg 20230908_210319.jpg 20230908_210727.jpg 20230908_210845.jpg 20230908_211213.jpg I 20230908_214012.jpg

I'm not an expert on full bell lines, however, I thought a couple of my Franklin's are pretty close. Please tell me your opinions on the six that I have posted. I really would like to know if any of these count as FBL.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

Call me a cynic, if you will, but none of the bell lines on those coins look right to me.

Did those 6 coins all come from the same source?

Last edited: Dec 3, 2023
    Mr.Q and GoldFinger1969 like this.
  4. eddiespin

eddiespin Fast Eddie

The critical area on these is where the crack runs through the top set of lines, that middle area. That is like the middle band for full torch on the mercury dimes. You get those right, they'll usually bend over backwards to give it fbl. Or at least that's how it was. The way they each do it, today, is a little funny. That is to say, goofy. My opinion, anyway.

The big deal is, all the lines are strong. What dates and mint marks?

Mr.Q likes this.
  5. Mr.Q

Mr.Q Well-Known Member

Along with the obverse would have been a better determination for facts and features. Good luck.

eddiespin likes this.
  6. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

They look close to FBL with the first one being the best but I don’t think they are.

7. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

The OP has opened a FBL rats nest! See: "Along with the obverse."