Four Dates on Gold Plated Ike Dollar

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by ItsTheNumismatist, Jun 30, 2019.

1. ItsTheNumismatist

ItsTheNumismatist New Member

Hello,

I have an Eisenhower (IKE) Dollar 1776-1976 that is gold plated and has two additional dates (1945-1985) and it has 5 stars in the form of e Pentagon. Can anyone please help with a little information and let me know if its worth anything more than face value?

Thanks

Attached Files:

• IKE.JPG
      IKE.JPG
      File size:
      432.2 KB
      Views:
    paddyman98 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Welcome to CT. This was done after the coin left the mint and is considered a souvenir or damage (PMD = Post Minting Damage). Worth what someone will give you, $1 for most people.

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Just no.. plated = damaged :yack:

R_rabbit likes this.
  5. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

It's damage but still an interesting coin. Someone did a nice job of adding the dates and stars. Must have been made to honor something or someone. Fun coin. It would probably bring a few dollars on Ebay.

6. Cool looking coin but its played only worth a dollar

7. SCpatron

SCpatron New Member

I disagree with those calling it simply PMD, this is what I consider counter stamped and there are folks who specialize in collecting them ( just not here on CT apparently

8. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I collect counter stamped coins myself. They are intriguing. But counter stamped coins are definitely Post Mint Damage!

And there are others also here on CoinTalk that collect them. Stick around a bit longer and you won't assume anything negative about us any more.

Welcome to CoinTalk

9. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Most everyone in the hobby will agree that it's damage and there are many that collect them. If it's fun, do it.