Found this common nickel with no heads

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Chloe Ann, May 15, 2016.

1. Chloe Ann

Chloe Ann New Member

Found this nickel with only one side to it. A small portion of the heads side was stamped on. There's no date on it so I don't know when it was printed. I was trying to figure out how much it might be worth. image.jpeg image.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Omegaraptor

Omegaraptor Gobrecht/Longacre Enthusiast

Likely smoothed out by some idiot.

Markus1959 likes this.
  4. Paul M.

Paul M. Well-Known Member

Probably still worth 5 cents. It's just been ground down or something.

5. Smojo

Smojo dreamliner

Some machinist with time to waste.

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Chloe.. what you have is known as PMD - Post (after it left the mint) Mint Damage
    I used a filter to enhance the marks so you can see better that it was ground, sanded down. The criss cross lines is evidence of most likely a Dremel machine
    :( Worth 4 1/2 cents
    5c.JPG

Mojavedave likes this.
  7. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

By the way welcome to Cointalk
    Paper Currency is Printed... Coins are Minted/Milled aka stamped... Different technique.

8. Smojo

Smojo dreamliner

Maybe not a machinist possibly a lazy aircraft mechanic. I wouldn't do that but I have seen them drill pennies pretty bad

9. Markus1959

Markus1959 Well-Known Member

10. Bill G.

Bill G. Member