Found a bunch of Japanese Ten Centavos

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by lincoln, Mar 27, 2016.

1. lincoln

lincoln Large Member

We're moving so I need to go through a few things.
    In a long-forgotten envelope I found 39 Japanese Ten Centavos notes, all in crisp, looks-like-they've-never-been-touched condition. I see them trying to be sold for anything from a couple bucks to $20, and they're average (or worse) looking. However, I don't see anyone buying them. I have inserted a picture of the front and back of one. Anyone got a ball-park on a value?

Thanks.

Attached Files:

MontCollector and paddyman98 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

4. lincoln

lincoln Large Member

5. paddyman98

I'm sure they are worth something to a collector of WWII history memorabilia. But nothing major in my book. Thanks for sharing.

6. Mojavedave

Mojavedave Senior Member

I don't think the Japanese Gov. used the centavo's denomination. Could the PR on the bill indicate Puerto Rico ?

Dave

7. kaparthy

kaparthy Well-Known Member

These were from the Phlippines under Japanese occupation in World War II. They are uncirculated because no one wanted them. The failure of the Japanese invasion and conquest was clearly temporary. Also, the low value (cents to the hundred per peso) made them worthless.

They are memorabilia from World War II, nothing more. Unless they are known to have some uncommon signatures, they are worth 20 cents, not 20 dollars. Sellers on eBay ask whatever a stupid person will pay, and eventually they get their price, as P. T. Barnum predicted.

8. kaparthy

Nope. You need to research your history, not make assertions. They are from the Philippines.

CaptainMK likes this.
  9. rooman9

rooman9 Lovin Shiny Things

I've bought large amounts of them for just a few dollars. I like them for the historic value but that's it.

10. Mojavedave