Found 1999 Wide AM Cent

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Kasia, Aug 26, 2011.

1. Kasia

Kasia Got my learning hat on

I am excited: I just found a 1999 Wide AM Cent in a CRW.:hail:What is this coins approx grade? Value?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. gbroke

gbroke Naturally Toned

Conratulations! great find. I don't have one yet. :(

4. tbudwiser

tbudwiser Active Member

Please inlighten me on what this is. Im curious. I mainly do paper currency, but it never hurts to look out for one of these, as I do anyways for weats. :)

5. gbroke

gbroke Naturally Toned

In the word "America" there is a space between the A and the M. Usually they are touching or close to it. So this one is called the wide AM as opposed to the close AM.

6. tbudwiser

tbudwiser Active Member

I fail to see a space in the first two pics but then the last pic has like a white space which doesn't look like an error at all. Sorry Im confused, I am still learning coins :).

7. vdbpenny1995

vdbpenny1995 Well-Known Member

The wide AM occured in the 1997,1998,1999, and 2000. 1999 is the rarest and hardest to come by. It occured when the proof dies for those dates were used to strike buiseness coins intended for circulation such as the one you found. I've ben looking for those in a while and STILL havent found one yet. Were you coin roll hunting? As for value, you should expect ATLEAST 50 dollars. CONGRATS

8. sorry, but the 1999 Wide AM is no where near the rarest; it's actually the fifth rarest. The rarest is the 1992 close AM

9. kdizzler

kdizzler Junior Member

Yes the 1992 close am is the rarest, then the 1998 wide am I believe.

Still a good find, have yet to come across one.

10. vdbpenny1995

vdbpenny1995 Well-Known Member

Damn, I had no idea there was a 1992 WAM. Can someone tell me every year this occured because I was told it was only from 1997-2000

11. tbudwiser

tbudwiser Active Member