Forgive any Silliness...

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by SarahNovice, Jan 19, 2020.

1. SarahNovice

SarahNovice New Member

Hi Friends,

IMG_2374.jpg IMG_2375.jpg IMG_2376.jpg IMG_2376-2.jpg I am a complete and utter novice. I know NOTHING about coins, although my grandmother was a collector and I possess a few things that might be interesting. I do buy and sell vintage and antique items, more as a hobby and as a collector than as a business. I just like cool old things!

So last week I bought a lot from a collector. It was a box of interesting old items like antique dog license tags, chauffeur badges, old pens, etc. My husband was looking through it and said "Woah, what's with that weird nickel?" I hadn't even noticed it. It looked like a regular nickel to me.

He told me that there was something odd about it, that the strike and surface were unusual. It still looked like a normal nickel to me. I have a bunch of coin books from grandma's collection, so I went to see if I had any other 1964 nickels to compare it to, while my husband looked up 1964 nickels on the internet.

OK, so now I see that it is indeed different. But it seems 99.9% unlikely that this is one of THOSE 1964 nickels. The SMS ones. But now we need to ask people who know a lot more than we do. Here is the auction nickel along with two 1964 nickels from my grandma's collection. I would love to hear your opinions, but please be kind, we truly and freely admit we do not know what we are doing. Thank you!!

Sarah

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. coloradobryan

coloradobryan Well-Known Member

There were over a billion nickels made in 1964, so lots of variation in strike. In the nearly 60 years since it was made, it has toned a bit. I would spend it personally.

SarahNovice likes this.
  4. LA_Geezer

LA_Geezer Well-Known Member