First time Coin Buyer

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Levismith240, Aug 26, 2016.

1. Levismith240

Levismith240 New Member

Hello,
    A few weeks ago I took the plunge and bought a sizable coin collection with a buddy. It was kind of a ready, shoot, aim decision. I had some basic knowledge, but basic is the operative word there. Have since done some more research and I don't think we did too bad, just not as good as I thought. The lot consisted of 11 $5 Liberty's, 11 $10 Liberty's, 4 $20 Liberty's, 200 Morgan's and 20 Walking Liberty's. None of the coins are graded, and from what I can gather on my own, only the gold ones are really worth having graded. Correct? The main question I have is how to get the best ROI. I'm new to this, so any and all advice is welcome.
    Thanks

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Garlicus

Garlicus Debt is dumb, cash is king.

The main question, really, is how are you and your buddy going to remain "buddies"?
    Unless you blindly divide the coins, or sell all of the coins and divide the money, there could end up being some animosity. For sportsmanship, the person that gets the 6th $10 Liberty should give $250-$300 to the person that got 6 $5 Liberties.

4. John77

John77 Well-Known Member

Best thing to do first is to make a list of the dates and mintmarks of the coins to see if there are any which are scarce/rare dates.

5. SuperDave

SuperDave Free the Cartwheels!

Your best bet, before dividing, is to learn why and how coin values are determined. Morgan Dollars can fetch six-figure prices, and there are gold coins whose value does not much exceed that of the metal they contain.

6. phankins11

phankins11 Well-Known Member

Without seeing the coins (maybe upload some really good pics) its going to be tough to tell you specifics of how you did on the purchase.

7. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

First, welcome to the neighborhood!