First Coin Purchase

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Dirtyfingers, May 14, 2021.

1. Dirtyfingers

Dirtyfingers Active Member

I went to my local coin shop for the first time a few weeks back just to browse around and maybe meet a good local point of contact. They had a pcgs graded 1952S Benji MS65. I used the pcgs app on my phone to check value which says $110. I asked what they wanted for it (it was the man who owns the stores wife, he was not there that day) and she checked the red book also at $110 but told me since it was graded she would sell it to me for $140. I did not barter with her since I am new to collecting and walked away with some paper coin flips.
    Yesterday I went back to the store. I planned on offering $120 and see if they would take that. The benji was gone as it had sold at a coin show on May 3rd. Either way I browsed some more and came across a pcgs graded 1883 Morgan MS64+. The app says $108, he checked red book and told me he would sell it to me for $90. I have been just CRH so far as to learn more before I purchased any coins but in my mind, it was already graded and his wife tried to sell me the Benji $30 over the listed value to recoup some of the grading costs. I told him I would get it and continued to look at some of the other morgans they had.
    There was a 1899-O in a paper flip with MS65 written on it that I liked because it was sharp and a New Orleans mint. I understand this is someones opinion on the grade but I looked at that coins value on the pcgs app and it stated $225. I asked him how much he wanted for this and he again checked the red book and told me it was listed for $120. I questioned him about the opinion of the MS65 grade and said I thought it looked to be lower grade than that. He came back and said $105. I told him I would give him $100 for it and he accepted. So I got the two morgans for $190.