Faustina I - Sestertius or Dupondius?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Marsyas Mike, May 28, 2018.

1. Marsyas Mike

Marsyas Mike Well-Known Member

I know it can be tough determining an As vs. a Dupondius, especially for empresses, but I have never been confused by a Sestertius vs. Dupondius.

I recently got a Faustina I bronze that is puzzling me. It's diameter is definitely sestertius size - 32mm. But its weight is only 13.7 grams. Even allowing for wear, this is light for a sestertius of this era. But I have never seen a dupondius this wide before. It is considerably thinner than other sestertii I have handled - only about 1-2 mm. Except for the thinness/width oddity, it looks legit to me, but I am quite new at Roman AEs.

The photos show this Faustina with a sestertius of Antoninus Pius that is virtually the same diameter (31-32 mm) but weighs 24.25 grams - clearly the Antoninus is a sestertius. It is very chunky - about 3-4 mm thick.

My question is: is a "wide" dupondius something anybody else has seen? Or do I have some kind of light (or fake) sestertius?

Thank you!

Antoninus Pius - Faustina comparison May 24 2018.jpg

Antoninus Pius - Faustina comparison May 24 2018a.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Roman Collector

Roman Collector Well-Known Member

I have several dozen bronze coins of Faustina I. The middle bronzes really are only 26 mm or so. I suspect it was just struck on a lightweight flan. Were it a dupondius, the border of dots around the rim would be very prominent and the flan would stick way out from the circle of dots.

ominus1 and Marsyas Mike like this.
  4. Roman Collector

Roman Collector Well-Known Member

See, for example, the rim of dots on this 26.6 mm middle bronze:

Faustina Sr AETERNITAS Providentia dupondius.jpg

5. ominus1

ominus1 Well-Known Member