Fake PCGS label?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Legoman1, Nov 8, 2018.

1. Legoman1

Legoman1 Active Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Maybe it is a label that was removed, cracked out of a real slab.
    Silly thing to do but some collectors don't like their coins in a slab.

When they do this they refer to it as "removing it from its tomb"

Legoman1 and ddddd like this.
  4. ddddd

ddddd Member

This could be one of the following reasons:
    1. Crack the coin out of the holder to place into an album
    2. Crack to resubmit (hoping for a higher grade)
    3. Crack because one doesn't like slabs (this is seen more often with world and ancient coin collectors)

When I've cracked a coin for my album, I kept the label in order to have a record of what the coin used to be graded.

Oldhoopster and Legoman1 like this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

6. ddddd

ddddd Member

Most PCGS certified coins won't have pictures unless the submitter paid for the TruView or submitted under SecurePlus/Gold Shield.

paddyman98 likes this.
  7. baseball21

baseball21 Well-Known Member

Keeping a label because you want to is perfectly fine.

That said a good number of people mistakenly believe keeping the label means the coin is still the same as it was in the slab, unfortunately there are people that push this idea.

It's a VERY easy way for people to defraud people if they can get them to buy into that idea.

Once a coin is cracked out the label means absolutely nothing.

8. dwhiz

dwhiz Collector Supporter

When you click on the link there is another one shown, on the same page, still in the PCGS slab and only $24.95 w/ free shipping.

9. Morpheus

Morpheus Active Member