Experiences with CGB Numismatics

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Romancollector, Jun 9, 2020.

1. Romancollector

Romancollector Well-Known Member

Hey everyone,

I was just wondering if anyone has dealt with CGB in Paris. For those of you who are in North America, or more specifically in Canada, what are your experiences with their service, shipping etc....? With the exception of Roma and more recently NAC, I don’t usually bid in European auctions.

Thanks!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. curtislclay

curtislclay Well-Known Member

I've been buying from CGB without problems since before 2000.

4. Spaniard

Spaniard Well-Known Member

I buy from them now and again when I see a bargain!..Which isn't vey often!...BUT..
    Professional, quick postage and what's more important for me excellent customer relations....I'm on the same land mass but fellow collectors over the pond seem to have the same positive answer...

jamesicus, Orfew and Romancollector like this.
  5. DonnaML

DonnaML Well-Known Member

I've bought at least two coins from cgb (plus the Wolkow book on the zoo coins of Gallienus), and my experiences were all positive. They do tend to be generous in describing the "grade" of their coins, so you have to make your own decisions based on the photos. I haven't bought any coins from them since the current international mail situation began in March, so I can't tell you how long their coins are taking to arrive in North America, but the Wolkow book arrived in less than one week.

6. Romancollector

Yes I’ve noticed that with the grading, but I think the same can be said for other European auction houses. I think CNG’s grading, though sometimes conservative, is the most accurate.

Restitutor and jamesicus like this.
  7. TIF

TIF Always learning.

I've bought a few from them, most recently late last year and for a very good price (thanks to @Cucumbor for the heads-up!):

[​IMG]
    EGYPT, Alexandria. Domitius Domitianus