Error Pennies in $300 worth of cents

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Cherd, May 10, 2010.

1. Cherd

Cherd Junior Member Supporter

Hello,

In a previous post I stated that I had searched about $300 worth of pennies and found 2X 1994 DDR, 98 Wide AM, 2000 Wide AM, 1982 DDR, 1983 DDO, and an 88 with reverse of 89. Readers have subsequently questioned the possiblity of finding these pennies in $300 worth of cents and have asked that pictures be provided for verification (Just in case I was mistaken).

This is my first time posting pictures on this site, and also the first time I have really tried to take detailed pictures of coins. I hope they turn out well enough.

Here are the Wide AM pennies, they're pretty straight forward.

98-2.jpg 2000.gif

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Cherd

Here are the 94 DDR's (extra column). I tried to take close up shots by focusing the camera through a hand lens. It kinda worked, but the columns do not show up really well.

94Fronts.jpg
    94Backs.jpg
    94Close.jpg

4. Cherd

Here's the 88 with 89 reverse (Different font in the FG). Again, the close ups are not high quality, but hopefully you can still see enough detail.

88.jpg
    88Close.gif

5. Cherd

This is the 83 DDO. I am pretty sure that this one is legit. Doubling can be seen in Liberty and in IGWT.

83.jpg
    83Liberty.jpg
    83IGWT.jpg

6. Cherd

Finally, the 82 DDR. This one may be machine doubling. The effect can be seen in all the letters in "United States of", and each of the letters show the same shift in the same direction. However, the overall thickness of the letters does not necessarily seem affected. You be the judge (assuming that you can see anything in the pictures).

82.gif
    82Close.jpg

7. beef1020

beef1020 Junior Member

Nice coins, and your pictures are pretty good. I don't have much experience taking pictures either but the few I have were not great...