Error coin

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Larry Stuckey, Feb 4, 2023.

1. Larry Stuckey

Larry Stuckey Member

89 quarter D mint ,weight 5.1 gram .missing entire reeded edgy ,no edge at all any information would be greatly appreciated

Attached Files:

Cheech9712 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Well-Known Member

Larry, your photos are too blurry and confusing to be able to draw much information from. Do you have two quarters with no reeding, or is that photo just too blurry to see them?
    In any case, most coins that are supposed to have reeding, but don't, are just damaged after they left the mint. Some are purposely damaged, like "spooning," or damage from being in equipment or machines, like a dryer coin.
    NAV, no added value and now not even collectible. Keep on looking.

71Avalon and Kentucky like this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Get rid of the metal tweezers. Big no no in handling of coins.

Cheech9712 and 71Avalon like this.
  5. Larry Stuckey

Larry Stuckey Member

6. Larry Stuckey

Larry Stuckey Member

calling on mountain man,on this quarter their is no reeded edge to spoon,no signs of damage,below the required weight 5.67 grams,lack the clads layers ,weight 5.1 gram ,in hand can see the copper core ,I appreciate the information patty thanks.is this coin considers a mint error.

7. Burton Strauss III

Burton Strauss III Brother can you spare a trime? Supporter

The photos are - politely - useless and blurry...

If the weight is low, it's possible it was trimmed down on a lathe.

Cheech9712 likes this.
  8. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

Coin operated machines were made for coins only bad thing they destroye the reeding

Cheech9712 likes this.
  9. Larry Stuckey

Larry Stuckey Member

Their is no damage,maybe better photo

Cheech9712 likes this.
  10. Larry Stuckey

Larry Stuckey Member