Eric P Newman passed away

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by techwriter, Nov 16, 2017.

1. techwriter

techwriter Well-Known Member

The St. Louis Post-Dispatch reports:

ERIC PFEIFFER NEWMAN died Wednesday, November 15, 2017, at his home in Clayton at the age of 106.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. V. Kurt Bellman

V. Kurt Bellman Yes, I'm blunt! Get over your "feeeeelings".

Show of hands - who has pieces with the Newman provenance? I do, but I didn't know they did until I got them.

techwriter likes this.
  4. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

I have 4 books signed by him

tommyc03 likes this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

6. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

I have a few pieces that I bought at auction. The guy built a great collection.

7. V. Kurt Bellman

I am genuinely envious. Signed books are cool.

8. SteveInTampa

SteveInTampa Always Learning

A true collector and a big loss for the Numismatic community.

I agree with @V. Kurt Bellman , signed books are really cool. And I’m guessing there fewer signed books than notes with his renowned collection noted on the holder.

He will be missed. Prayers for his family.

9. techwriter

Sadly, no autograph in mine.

10. sakata

sakata Devil's Advocate

I've never understood why people thought a book more valuable because of a signature. I guess it is the same sort of thing as when people will pay more for an encapsulated coin when it bears the signature of someone who is supposed to be famous.

11. techwriter

You're right! I'll call my mom and tell her the Profiles in Courage autographed by Kennedy is not very valuable and she should give it to me; same probably for the Salinger Catcher In The Rye; and probably all the Perry Mason novels my dad had in his library.

12. sakata

sakata Devil's Advocate

Why would you want them if you agree with my statement?

13. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank