English Pennies

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by zenlib, Apr 12, 2020.

1. zenlib

zenlib Member

FYI I am in the U.S. I have been collecting English Pennies for a few years now and I have a gap in my collection for the monarchs Wm&Mary, Wm III, Anne, Geo I, and Geo II, although I do have a 1754 Geo II (SCBC 3715A). I tend to haunt the auction houses (including some in Great Britain) but occasionally check fixed price lists. I do not recall ever seeing one of these pennies from 1689-1731 come up for auction. The prices for these in the Standard Catalogue are not that high to indicate any kind of rarity. In fact the lower grades are cheap.
    Does anybody have a clue as to why there don't seem to be any? tnx.

Coinsandmedals likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. zenlib

zenlib Member

I should have mentioned that I am not talking about Maundy coins.

Coinsandmedals likes this.
  4. Coinsandmedals

Coinsandmedals Well-Known Member

I assume you mean Halfpennies and not Pennies. You should be able to find low-grade examples on eBay easily. If you are looking for higher grade examples, your best bet is to look at larger auction houses. Most of my higher-quality coins have come from large auction houses overseas.

5. zenlib

zenlib Member

Dear Coinsandmetals - You have thrown me off a bit. Why do you assume I am talking about halfpennies? I mean pennies.

6. Coinsandmedals

Coinsandmedals Well-Known Member

Welcome to CT! Well I misread your post and assumed you were talking about copper. Sorry for the confusion. eBay may still be of some assistance.

Last edited: Apr 12, 2020
  7. zenlib

zenlib Member

OK. I have avoided eBay for a couple of years. Perhaps it is time to give it another try. tnx.

8. Gallienus

Gallienus coinsandhistory.com